Individuals and organisations that try to claim ownership of domain names that contain Microsoft brand names are being targeted by the software giant.
Individuals and organisations that try to claim ownership of domain names that contain Microsoft brand names and mis-spelled variations of them are being targeted by the software giant.
Websites such as winowslivemessenger.com and micr0soft.co.uk trick unsuspecting surfers into clicking on unauthorised links meaning the site's owners pocket advertising revenues that they have no fair claim to, Microsoft argues.
“These sites confuse visitors who are trying to reach genuine company websites, which can negatively affect corporate brands and reputations as well as impair the end-users’ experience online,” said Aaron Kornblum, senior attorney at Microsoft.
Microsoft has launched a number of lawsuits to target these 'cybersquatters', including five against UK-based companies, for "allegedly having registered domain names infringing on Microsoft’s trademark and other statutory and common-law rights."
Microsoft has also recently reached a settled with UK-based Dyslexic Domain Company, which had registered more than 6,000 domains, Microsoft claimed. An undisclosed payment was made by Dyslexic Domains.
The company warned that it was prepared to bring proceedings against more companies in an attempt to stamp out the problem once and for all.
“We hope that our stance and activity on this issue will help motivate and empower other companies whose brands are abused to take action,” Kornblum said.
http://www.microsoft.com/
|  |
Comments
Latest comments
No comments posted. Be the first by posting yours below...