Home   News  Product reviews  Website reviews  Forums   Competitions  Subscribe 

Software >> Email and instant messaging

 |  Print Thread
Jonny555



Reg'd: Fri
Posts: 5329
Loc: Cheshire, England
Very dodgy e-mail
      Thu Jun 19 2003 07:24 PM

I recieved this today:

"Dear customer,

Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card information.
This order was made online at our official BestBuy website on 06/19/2003.
Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need you to visit a special Fraud Department page at our web store where you can confirm or decline this transaction by providing us with the correct information.
This e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau.

Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the cause of the problem.
BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ORDER# 1095619 - STATUS: SUSPENDED
ITEMS PURCHASED
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Item No: 73890
CDA-9815 In-Dash CD Player/Ai-Changer Controller
Price: $387.65 Qty: 2 Total: $775.3
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The order listed above has not yet been processed.
The reason for the delay in processing your order is:

- UNVERIFIED SHIPPING ADDRESS

- Information provided:
Shipping
41 WINHAM ST
Staten Island, NY 10306
United States
phone# 206-337-9843

In our effort to deter fraudulent transactions, we need your help in providing us with the correct information. Your prompt response is needed to avoid any unauthorized charges to your credit card.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the cause of the problem.
BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html"

Out of interest I checked the site out. It's been removed from the server. I know theres no way they could have my credit card details, but it's either just spam or more sinister. I suggest being very carefull if you recieve something very similar to this.

Regards, John.
http://www.jonny555.co.uk

The best amature watercolour community on the net.


Post Extras Print Post   Remind Me!     Notify Moderator
Rate this thread

Jump to


Entire topic
Subject Posted by Posted on
* Very dodgy e-mail Jonny555 Thu Jun 19 2003 07:24 PM
. * * Re: Very dodgy e-mail putasolutionsModerator   Fri Jun 20 2003 06:43 PM
. * * Re: Very dodgy e-mail paul_lomax   Thu Jun 19 2003 07:45 PM
. * * Re: Very dodgy e-mail Barney_Rubble   Fri Jun 20 2003 02:05 PM
. * * Re: Very dodgy e-mail Jonny555   Fri Jun 20 2003 07:54 PM

Extra information
0 registered and 4 anonymous users are browsing this forum.

Moderator:  Mouse, Joe_London, greysts, putasolutions, John_McKenna, bricat, Hello_There, Nanook, TheFatControlleR 


Print Thread
Forum Permissions
      You cannot start new topics
      You cannot reply to topics
      HTML is disabled
      Mark-up is enabled

Rating:
Thread views: 0

Contact Us | Privacy statement Main website
Hitwise Top 10 Award Winner - Jan-Mar 2005

About us | Contact us | Link to us | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy
© Copyright IPC Media Limited, All rights reserved