|
|
Gremlin
new user
Reg'd: Sun
Posts: 3
|
|
Hi everyone, you may all have been alerted to this/these e-mails but incase you have not be warned. I received an e-mail from my bank which is the Natwest and stupidly opened it. All was o.k. but the contents of the e-mail wasn`t as it was a supposed update of my bank details. They ask you to click on the url in blue contained in the e-mail to supposedly check your details. I thought about this and rang my bank to see if it was genuine...it definatley was not infact nothing to do with the bank at all. They are now following it up. The layout of the e-mail is exactly like the banks letters with the right fonts, colouring and wording so don`t be fooled as banks ( well my bank anyway ) would not do this through an e-mail. You are most probably all wise to these nasty intruders but just incase i thought i`d pass this info on. Take care and Happy Webusing. G.
|
|
greysts
regular
Reg'd: Thu
Posts: 17961
Loc: Colchester
|
|
The email you received is what's known as a 'phishing' scam. Have a look at this for more information.

Do you know that we're all in line for succession to the throne? Really? Well, if forty-eight million, two hundred thousand, seven hundred and one people died I'd be Queen.
|
Madeline
regular
Reg'd: Wed
Posts: 14628
Loc: Wales
|
|
Thanks for the warning, Gremlin. I do know about these phishing scams, but it doesn't do any harm to be reminded sometimes to be on guard against them. Madeline.
To err is human; to really foul things up you need a computer.
|
predator
regular
Reg'd: Sun
Posts: 544
|
|
A lot of these going around at the moment - in the last week I've had emails supposedly from Halifax, natwest, lloyds-tsb, Paypal, ebay and Citibank - Citibank being the most targeted bank by far.
The thing to remember is if you get an email claiming to be from your bank, NEVER click on a link in the email, no matter how genuine it looks.
McAfee spamkiller filters these for me, but looking at them before deleting them shows some are very amateurish (spelling mistakes etc) and some are very convincing - viewing the source shows they actually link all the images etc to the real bank website, but the one they ask you to click on either goes to an ip address (which doesnt belong to the bank) or a url which is similar to the banks but not quite right.
www.predatorconservation.com
|
Madeline
regular
Reg'd: Wed
Posts: 14628
Loc: Wales
|
|
I've never actually had any of these phishing attempts, but I might do. I would contact my bank to check if it was genuine. If it wasn't, they'd want to know about it so that they could warn all their customers to be on their guard. If it wasn't from my bank, I'd know it was a scam and I'd let that bank know too. Madeline.
To err is human; to really foul things up you need a computer.
|
Gremlin
new user
Reg'd: Sun
Posts: 3
|
|
As a matter of fact i have seen a few e-mails from Citibank but i have deleted them straight away as i have never had any dealings with them but thanks for confirming that these are also scams. It seems that there are plenty of these things about and am glad that you all know about them. Phising what an appropriate name for them.
`G`
|
Gremlin
new user
Reg'd: Sun
Posts: 3
|
|
Thanks for sending me the site to look at, very helpful and informing about 'Phising Scams'. I have added the site to my favourites for future reference but noticed it is american, is there a british link to this ?
Thanks 'G'
|
greysts
regular
Reg'd: Thu
Posts: 17961
Loc: Colchester
|
|
Hi Gremlin
How about this one?

Do you know that we're all in line for succession to the throne? Really? Well, if forty-eight million, two hundred thousand, seven hundred and one people died I'd be Queen.
|