Home   News  Product reviews  Website reviews  Forums   Competitions  Subscribe 

Web Building >> Readers' Websites
 |  Print Topic
Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
deepthr0at
new user


Reg'd: Thu
Posts: 8
PopMates - The Online Popularity Contest
      #69829 - Thu May 20 2004 03:55 PM

My site is http://www.popmates.co.uk and it essentially a free dating/personals site with a few bells and whistles.

It offers a unique pop culture member matching service whereby you can search through member profiles according to your favourite album, movie and book.

Also each member gets a popularity ranking according to their activity and status within the community.

Would be glad to hear everyones comments or opinions.

Cheers

Andy

Edited by putasolutions on 20/05/2004 16:00 (server time).



Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
TheFatControlleRAdministrator
Forum Admin


Reg'd: Fri
Posts: 6666
Loc: Megatripolis
Re: PopMates - The Online Popularity Contest [Re: deepthr0at]
      #69891 - Thu May 20 2004 06:36 PM

?
TFC
Nothing is a problem for me...


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
nirvana
regular


Reg'd: Tue
Posts: 2124
Loc: Milton Keynes
Re: PopMates - The Online Popularity Contest [Re: TheFatControlleR]
      #69924 - Thu May 20 2004 07:28 PM

Don't know TFC, I can't seem to find where they're asking for any Benjamins, can you?
On-Line Virus and Trojan scans:
GFI's TrojanScan.com | Housecall | Bitdefender
Useful Tools:
SpyBot Search and Destroy | Ad-Aware | CWShredder
Free Anti-Virus and Firewall:
AVG Anti-Virus | Sygate Personal Firewall
Updates:
Upgrade to IE6 | Windows Update


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
TheFatControlleRAdministrator
Forum Admin


Reg'd: Fri
Posts: 6666
Loc: Megatripolis
Re: PopMates - The Online Popularity Contest [Re: nirvana]
      #70068 - Thu May 20 2004 11:21 PM

I just wondered whether these two posts were more an exercise in getting the URL onto search engines (a well known tactic) or a genuine call for comment, hence the question mark.

Not necessarily commercial. The Who is info suggest two different registrants (one the poster, the other a company - both in London, N1). Plus, when I see such usernames (and posting in this area their first (and often only) foray onto the forum) I always doubt the legitimacy of the post.

Maybe I'm just an old cynic.
TFC
Nothing is a problem for me...


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
greystsModerator
regular


Reg'd: Thu
Posts: 17961
Loc: Colchester
Re: PopMates - The Online Popularity Contest [Re: TheFatControlleR]
      #70173 - Fri May 21 2004 12:18 PM

My cynicism was aroused as well when I had a look at the Terms & Conditions. Here's just a few random samples.

This is Popmates.co.uk, a Web Site operated (by) Retrodigital Limited

We have joined up with a number of partners to to enable you to purchase music and related materials. All transactions carried out from www.popex.com are with the affiliate (and not with Us) and will be governed by the affiliates standard terms & conditions.

We cannot and do not accept any responsibility or liability for any losses you may suffer as a result of entering into any transaction with our affiliate partners or any third party.


We will only use your personal information for purposes for which you have consented although from time to time we may sell or rent your personal information to third parties for the purpose of marketing offers, promotions that we feel you may find of interest.

I like the last one best - we won't use the information unless we get a lot of money and then you can get stuffed.



Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
deepthr0at
new user


Reg'd: Thu
Posts: 8
Re: PopMates - The Online Popularity Contest [Re: deepthr0at]
      #70220 - Fri May 21 2004 03:11 PM

Sorry guys I didn't realise that I wasn't allowed to post my website if there was any possibility that it might make some money.

At the moment my site is 100% free to use.

I am genuinely interested in hearing what you have to say about it.

As for the DVD site regardless of the domain registration info it is completely non-commercial. I am into DVDs and I thought I would share what I had learnt about getting free DVD rentals.

Sorry if you think this is spam.

Andy


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Pages: 1

Rate this topic

Jump to


Extra information
0 registered and 0 anonymous users are browsing this forum.

Moderator:  AndrewC, Joe_London, greysts, bricat, putasolutions, Hello_There, John_McKenna, Nanook, Mouse, TheFatControlleR 


Print Topic

Forum Permissions
      You cannot start new topics
      You cannot reply to topics
      HTML is disabled
      Mark-up is enabled

Rating:
Topic views: 255

Contact Us | Privacy statement Main website
Hitwise Top 10 Award Winner - Jan-Mar 2005

About us | Contact us | Link to us | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy
© Copyright IPC Media Limited, All rights reserved