Home   News  Product reviews  Website reviews  Forums   Competitions  Subscribe 
We've teamed up with Firebox.com to bring our readers and visitors the hottest gadgets in our very own shop!

Software >> Other Software
 |  Print Topic
Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
heres_johnny
regular


Reg'd: Sat
Posts: 215
Giveaway of the Day
      #391858 - Thu Apr 17 2008 01:55 PM

hi a few weeks ago i used the site Giveaway of the Day then today when i clicked on the site i noticed McAfee siteAdvisor was giving it a red warning has anyone else noticed this

--------------------
WaWA Weeeeeeeee Wa I Like


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
rirvine
Features Editor


Reg'd: Fri
Posts: 227
Re: Giveaway of the Day [Re: heres_johnny]
      #391869 - Thu Apr 17 2008 04:36 PM

Hi heres_johnny,

If you click on the Site Advisor button and choose Site Details while viewing Giveaway of the Day it has this message from the site's webmaster:

Quote:

Hello everyone,
I will try to clarify the situation with "red" mark for Giveawayoftheday.com website here at SiteAdvisor.
We have a freeware library linked to our website, and this library contains lots of 3rd party programs. Those programs are submitted by different persons and it appears that some of those submissions had adware included. We removed those files and improved our security procedures for the freeware section of our website. All the submissions for the giveaway section always undergo antivirus and antispyware checks before appearing on our pages.
Giveawayoftheday.com is a safe website and we will continue working on keeping it safe in future.




The dodgy downloads in question are listed here.


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
heres_johnny
regular


Reg'd: Sat
Posts: 215
Re: Giveaway of the Day [Re: rirvine]
      #391878 - Thu Apr 17 2008 05:44 PM

hi rirvine thanks for the information i never read the reviews i just saw the "red" and thought oi oi whats going on hear cheers.

--------------------
WaWA Weeeeeeeee Wa I Like


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
kingfisher171
regular


Reg'd: Tue
Posts: 261
Re: Giveaway of the Day [Re: heres_johnny]
      #391984 - Fri Apr 18 2008 04:39 PM


Yes I too saw that red alert and removed the site from my system without questioning it. I also have http://www.freedownloadaday.com/ and so far this is OK


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Pages: 1

Rate this topic

Jump to


Extra information
0 registered and 2 anonymous users are browsing this forum.

Moderator:  Mouse, Hello_There, greysts, bricat, Joe_London, putasolutions, John_McKenna, Nanook, TheFatControlleR 


Print Topic

Forum Permissions
      You cannot start new topics
      You cannot reply to topics
      HTML is disabled
      Mark-up is enabled

Rating:
Topic views: 0

Contact Us | Privacy statement Main website
Hitwise Top 10 Award Winner - Jan-Mar 2005

About us | Contact us | Link to us | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy
© Copyright IPC Media Limited, All rights reserved