|
|
PeterB
new user
Reg'd: Fri
Posts: 4
|
|
Hi. Following this issue (164, 21/6-4/7), I've just downloaded the accelerator from FreshDevices.com. They've sent me some reg codes and on the top of their Email is the following link: http://www.regsweep.com/?hop=linkbarter&tid=J26UN. Does anybody know of this site and used it?
Or, as usual, does anything that seems too good to be true normally turn out to be just that??
Any comments gratefully received PB
|
|
PeterB
new user
Reg'd: Fri
Posts: 4
|
|
Sorry folks, this had changed. What I actually saw was this link, and it's this one, not Regedit, which I have used before, I am seeking advice about. Thanks PB
http://www.satellitetvtopc.com/?hop=linkbarter&tid=FDEVCODE
|
greysts
regular
Reg'd: Thu
Posts: 18153
Loc: Colchester
|
|
Are you telling us that WebUser gave out a link to a site that requires you to pay $50 to use the software? And why is some company sending out registry fixes via email?
--------------------
Do you know that we're all in line for succession to the throne? Really?
Well, if forty-eight million, two hundred thousand, seven hundred and one people died I'd be Queen.
Edited by greysts (Fri Jun 29 2007 06:00 PM)
|
evilmonkeyzz
regular
Reg'd: Sun
Posts: 2172
|
|
Take a look at McAfee SiteAdvisor's report on that site. I think you should stay well away.
|
PeterB
new user
Reg'd: Fri
Posts: 4
|
|
Thanks for the link "evilmonkeyzz". Definitely leave it alone. In answer to your point "greysts"; No, Web Advisor listed a link to FreshDevices.com, for a download accelerator that has proved to be very useful. FreshDevices.com sent out an acknowledgement Email listing registration codes for their products and at the top of this Email was the link above. It was because of this "third party" link that i asked the question. However, I am surprised that WebUser mag did not warn of this in their magazine.
Thanks all for your responses
|
rirvine
Features Editor
Reg'd: Fri
Posts: 249
|
|
Fresh Download has been a trusted Web User download manager for years, and I've never heard of any security issues surrounding it before. It was included in the 'a faster web for free' feature as its' fast and, unlike many programs of its ilk, completely free to use and contains no spyware.
I'm not sure how we could have predicted which third-party adverts might appear in emails sent by the company - it would be akin to telling people not to use Google in case they clicked on a potentially dodgy sponsored link.
|