|
|
MikeStevens
regular
Reg'd: Tue
Posts: 109
Loc: Leicester, UK
|
|
Hi
I've received 10 emails which originate from the address "admin@microsoft.com". On the subject line is "Internet Explorer 7.0 beta"
Sophos state that they contain The "Grum worm that poses as Internet Explorer beta download. Beware email which claims to come from Microsoft"
I haven't opened them.
I thought everyone should know about this if you don't already.
Mike
|
|
jen87
new user
Reg'd: Tue
Posts: 1
|
|
Hi Mike!! I've found this article in Google News and I believe it has relation with your problem :
Missouri Computers Infected with Virus Director of Public Safety Mark James wants to ensure Missourians do not fall victim to the latest Internet scheme. He announced reports from several states, including Missouri, that people have received e-mails asking them to download Internet Explorer 7. Once they had, their computer was infected with malware.
"Computer intruders are a dangerous breed of criminal deviants, but we will remain vigilant in our efforts to protect our state's computer infrastructure from those who would unlawfully misuse technology," James said.
The e-mails carry the subject line "Internet Explorer 7 Downloads" and appear to come from admin@microsoft.com. They include a blue, Microsoft-style graphic offering a download of IE 7 beta 2. Clicking the graphic will download an executable file called IE 7.exe. James urges Missourians not to open the attachment. The state has received 80 messages from this user and are currently monitoring the activity.
DHS tips to protect against computer hackers:
* Train and make yourself and other network users aware of attack techniques and safe web browsing practices. * Perform a thorough review of operational needs to determine the types of required attachments. Implement a default deny rule, allowing only those attachment types with a verifiable business need and associated approved software. Block all other attachments. * Block e-mail that does not originate from an internal e-mail server and claims to be from the "same domain" (same .gov, .com, .mil, .org, etc) e-mail address.
Remember you can check your hard disk with the following programs: - AVG (free edition), Norton, Avast, etc. (antivirus softwares). - Infected Or Not, Bit Defender (free online scanning)
Have a nice day
|
|
|