heres_johnny
(regular)
Thu Apr 17 2008 01:55 PM
Giveaway of the Day

hi a few weeks ago i used the site Giveaway of the Day then today when i clicked on the site i noticed McAfee siteAdvisor was giving it a red warning has anyone else noticed this

rirvine
(Features Editor)
Thu Apr 17 2008 04:36 PM
Re: Giveaway of the Day

Hi heres_johnny,

If you click on the Site Advisor button and choose Site Details while viewing Giveaway of the Day it has this message from the site's webmaster:

Quote:

Hello everyone,
I will try to clarify the situation with "red" mark for Giveawayoftheday.com website here at SiteAdvisor.
We have a freeware library linked to our website, and this library contains lots of 3rd party programs. Those programs are submitted by different persons and it appears that some of those submissions had adware included. We removed those files and improved our security procedures for the freeware section of our website. All the submissions for the giveaway section always undergo antivirus and antispyware checks before appearing on our pages.
Giveawayoftheday.com is a safe website and we will continue working on keeping it safe in future.




The dodgy downloads in question are listed here.


heres_johnny
(regular)
Thu Apr 17 2008 05:44 PM
Re: Giveaway of the Day

hi rirvine thanks for the information i never read the reviews i just saw the "red" and thought oi oi whats going on hear cheers.

kingfisher171
(regular)
Fri Apr 18 2008 04:39 PM
Re: Giveaway of the Day


Yes I too saw that red alert and removed the site from my system without questioning it. I also have http://www.freedownloadaday.com/ and so far this is OK


Contact Us | Privacy statement Main website
Hitwise Top 10 Award Winner - Jan-Mar 2005

About us | Contact us | Link to us | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy
© Copyright IPC Media Limited, All rights reserved