Jonny555
()
Thu Jun 19 2003 07:24 PM
Very dodgy e-mail

I recieved this today:

"Dear customer,

Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card information.
This order was made online at our official BestBuy website on 06/19/2003.
Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need you to visit a special Fraud Department page at our web store where you can confirm or decline this transaction by providing us with the correct information.
This e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau.

Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the cause of the problem.
BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ORDER# 1095619 - STATUS: SUSPENDED
ITEMS PURCHASED
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Item No: 73890
CDA-9815 In-Dash CD Player/Ai-Changer Controller
Price: $387.65 Qty: 2 Total: $775.3
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The order listed above has not yet been processed.
The reason for the delay in processing your order is:

- UNVERIFIED SHIPPING ADDRESS

- Information provided:
Shipping
41 WINHAM ST
Staten Island, NY 10306
United States
phone# 206-337-9843

In our effort to deter fraudulent transactions, we need your help in providing us with the correct information. Your prompt response is needed to avoid any unauthorized charges to your credit card.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the cause of the problem.
BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html"

Out of interest I checked the site out. It's been removed from the server. I know theres no way they could have my credit card details, but it's either just spam or more sinister. I suggest being very carefull if you recieve something very similar to this.

Regards, John.
http://www.jonny555.co.uk

The best amature watercolour community on the net.


paul_lomax
()
Thu Jun 19 2003 07:45 PM
Re: Very dodgy e-mail

If the site hadnt been removed, a fiver says it would have asked you for your credit card details to 'verify your identity' or something..
Paul Lomax
Internet Technology Manager
IPC Country and Leisure Media


Barney_Rubble
(regular)
Fri Jun 20 2003 02:05 PM
Re: Very dodgy e-mail

I'll second that. NEVER respond to anything like that. They just want your credit card details so they can clean you out. Delete it and forget it.

There is intelligent life on Earth, but I'm only visiting.


putasolutions
(regular)
Fri Jun 20 2003 06:43 PM
Re: Very dodgy e-mail

From BestBuy Press office

"In the late afternoon of Wednesday, June 18, Best Buy became aware of an unauthorized and deceptive e-mail to consumers titled "Fraud Alert." This e-mail, which requests personal information (i.e., social security and credit card numbers), claims to come from the BestBuy.com Fraud Department. This message is NOT from Best Buy.

Best Buy is working with appropriate authorities to quickly resolve the situation. If you think you have replied to the fraudulent e-mail in any way, contact your bank and/or credit card companies immediately.

No Best Buy systems have been compromised, and our online business is secure. The privacy of your personal information is of the utmost importance to Best Buy and information you provide us is always handled according to our Privacy Policy.

If you have any questions, call Customer Care at 1-888-BEST BUY or visit our Online Pressroom.

To find out more about identity theft or providing your information to anyone, visit the Federal Trade Commission's Identity Theft Web site at http://www.consumer.gov/idtheft or call 1-877-ID THEFT."



Of all the Things I've lost, I miss my mind the most


Jonny555
()
Fri Jun 20 2003 07:54 PM
Re: Very dodgy e-mail

Having used the net for many many years I know not to be taken in by something like this. I thought I'd post it here to warn others who may not be so net savvy.

I didn't click any links within the e-mail. I went there via my works system which is about as secure as you can get. I never use any of my cards online anyway. It's easy enough to get good deals from online companies without paying via the net.
http://www.jonny555.co.uk

The best amature watercolour community on the net.


Contact Us | Privacy statement Main website
Hitwise Top 10 Award Winner - Jan-Mar 2005

About us | Contact us | Link to us | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy
© Copyright IPC Media Limited, All rights reserved